AFCON’19: Senegal-Algeria, Which Team Wins It?

On the 21st of June Africa united in Egypt to witness the first ever 24 nation AFCON. Host Nation Egypt as usual started off with a win and we no knew we were in for a great tournament.

An AFCON which had debutants with Madagascar especially impressing and shocking the masses. Some big footballing Nations had a disappointing spell like Ghana and some have lived to the billing and both will face off tonight in the AFCON’19 final in Cairo.

The Teranga Lions of Senegal will be facing the Dessert Foxes of Algeria in what will be a repeat of the group stage clash where Algeria won by a lone goal. Algeria go into the finals with the best form, 12 goals so far and 5 wins in regulation time. Algeria have just one AFCON title under their belt and that was 29 years ago in 1990 on home soil.

They have got Manchester City playmaker Riyad Mahrez and he has really inspired the Algerian team throughout the tournament even though it looked like he had a slow start. The havesome exciting attackers like Yacine Brahimi, Sofiane Feghouli, Islam Slimani and Baghdad Bounedjah. We look forward to see how the fluid Desert Foxes fair against Aliou Cisse’s Senegal.

It is quite surprising but Senegal haven’t won the African Cup of Nations title before even though they have brought some of the most promising talents to the Continent. They are looking to however change the narrative tonight against their Algerian counterparts. Senegal have scored three goals in total in all the knock out stages. Scoring one against Uganda and defeating them, they knocked down Benin with a lone goal and defeated the Carthage Eagles of Tunisia with a single goal in the semi finals.

They aren’t really firing and have missed three penalties in this tournament alone. Their main talisman is Champions League winner Sadio Mane and have got some massive superstars who are bug names in their clubs. Kalidou Koulibaly of Napoli, Idrissa Gana Gueye of Everton and Kouyate.

Ghana’s Fuse ODG will perform at the closing ceremony and the curtains will be drawn but the question still remains, Who wins it?

(Source: Daniel Dake)

You may also like ...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: